Old Basement


My mind is an old basement
Long abandoned and neglected
Mighty cobwebs of thoughts
You dare not to enter
For they will cloud your sight.
Tiny and squeaking rats of thoughts
Moving up and down
Happy to be without restraints
Yet it makes me jumpy.

Litters of thoughts
Already a giant heap of waste
Giving the old basement a smell.
Scattered furniture of thoughts
Lots of unused materials
Scattered and forgotten in the old basement.
My thoughts have darkened the old basement
I am scared to make an entrance

I invite you to have a peep
Into the old basement
I bet you won’t come in
Unless you are a cleaner.

Oyekan Oluwaseun O

Leave a Reply

