SOMEDAY


With tears in my eyes I wish for someday
Mum tells me about someday
And I just can’t wait for it
Dad suffers and toils today cos
He believes in someday
Big sister tells me to wipe my tears cos someday is coming
The uncertainty of the future
Darkens my bright picture of someday.

When we will no longer have worries
When we will think no more
When my eyes will become tear-less
When my dreams are right in front of me
When I no longer remember what hunger feels like

But then,I look around me
Dad’s still toiling
Mum’s still smiling in the midst of hardship
Big sister is trying to make something good out of school
Boys and girls are suffering and smiling
So unconscious I didn’t even notice the tears fall from my eyes.

I weep!!!
For someday is just an illusion
I’ll rather live in the struggles
And survival of this day
Than hope for a SOMEDAY
That would never come…


THE POET
Ejezie Vivian is an undergraduate student at the University of Ibadan where she majors in History. Writing is one of her hobbies and she gets inspiration from happenings in the society…

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

5 comments on “SOMEDAY

  1. When I got this poem, I felt drawn to it and I knew I had share this on my blog, Vivian captured the situation in this country in her poem. When we could barely understand them,
    they told us we will be the leaders someday.
    As we grow, they told us our country will get
    better someday, they insisted that our
    sufferings would end someday, even now
    that we understand it all, they still insist on
    that someday. Vivian, using her simplicity
    captured the failings and lies of our leaders
    in her poem titled ‘SOMEDAY’… This is a nice one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

