A Lonely Meeting


Here they come like mourners
Still!
Their presence announced the dying day.
They marched like soldiers that heard the bell
That signify the end of war.
Or are they really soldiers?
Has there been a war?
Are they the lost comrades?
I must have died the day the war started
How could i not have known about the war?
Where was I to cheer them up?
They stared like something was amiss.
They gazed with uncertainty
Their eyes upon me.
Is this because i didn’t cheer them up?
Are they here to crucify me?
No!
Their planet differs from mine
Whatever war took place is not my concern
Their gain or loss is not mine
But why have they come here?
I knew i had to sword down this meeting
They seem without direction
He that seems like a leader changed the lead
After he had probably cleared me of his doubt
They didn’t trust to come
They all followed him without question
And continued their procession to heaven or hell
For they are no better than the deceased
Are they really warriors?
Their armour and sword they must have left at the field
Why are they without Adeoti’s red milk?
I am convinced that they are not warriors
But their gloomy face confused me.
Their contrast procession of the natural colours,
I was soon denied of, as the greens swallowed them.
Their departure brought the reality of my solitude.
Darkness is here
And I am alone.
They are better than me after all
At least they enjoy company
Alas I was disappointed.
And looked forward to another meeting
Though this was a lonely meeting.

 
Leave a Reply

